Tuesday, March 14, 2023
HomeRoboticsA3 broadcasts Roberta Nelson Shea, Jeff Burnstein as Engelberger Awards winners

A3 broadcasts Roberta Nelson Shea, Jeff Burnstein as Engelberger Awards winners

Take heed to this text

Voiced by Amazon Polly

From left to proper, Roberta Nelson Shea and Jeff Burnstein, winners of the 2023 Engelberger Awards. | Supply: A3

The Affiliation for Advancing Automation (A3) introduced its winners for the 2023 Joseph F. Engelberger Robotics Awards: Roberta Nelson Shea, the International Technical Compliance Officer at Common Robots, and Jeff Burnstein, President of A3. 

Each Shea and Burnstein had been unanimously chosen by the awards committee and the previous chairs of the Robotics Industries Affiliation (RIA), now A3, to win the award. 

Shea was chosen because the Utility winner of the award for her work in international robotics security. Shea has been a central determine in growing industrial robotic security requirements in North America for over 45 years. She’s the convenor of the committee ISO/TC 99 WG3 (ISO/TC 184/SC2), on this position she led the introduction of ISO/TS 15066. 

This normal, which is an extension of the established ISO 10218, is the primary doc defining standardized security necessities for human-robot collaboration. 

“The Engelberger Robotics Award for Utility in Security is an amazing honor to me and to all those that have embraced and contributed to robotic security,” Shea instructed A3. “I bear in mind assembly Joe Engelberger over 40 years in the past and by no means imagined receiving this award. I view the award to be honoring the business’s progress in optimizing security and productiveness. The journey has been wonderful!”

Burnstein was chosen because the Management winner to honor his 4 many years of dedication in A3. Burnstein joined the affiliation in 1983 as a supervisor of selling and public relations, and have become president in 2007. He additionally serves on the Government Board of the Worldwide Federation of Robotics (IFR). 

“Successful the Engelberger Robotics Award for Management is past any accomplishment I might have imagined once I began on the affiliation 40 years in the past,” Burnstein instructed A3. “The award has been described because the ‘Nobel Prize of Robotics’ for good motive as it’s acknowledged globally as our business’s pinnacle of success. As an English main with no technical background in any respect, I’m dwelling proof that there’s a house for anybody within the robotics business.”

The Engelberger awards are named after Joseph F. Engelberger who is called the founding pressure behind industrial robotics. The awards began in 1977, and since then there have been 136 recipients from world wide for excellence in know-how growth, software, training and management. 

Winners are really helpful by a panel of business leaders based mostly on all current and previous nominations from the business. They’re then voted on by previous chairs of the RIA. A3 administers the award and every winner receives a $5,000 honorarium and a commemorative medallion.

Marc Raibert, a 2022 Engelberger award winner, will probably be keynoting the Robotics Summit & Expo in Boston on Could 10-11. In his fireplace chat “The Subsequent Decade in Robotics” Raibert will talk about alternatives for the robotics business and a very powerful and troublesome challenges going through the creation of superior robotics. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments